Education Champions: 2019 Music Educator Award Semifinalists

music educator grammy award

Across the U.S., 2,800 dedicated teachers were considered and carefully narrowed down to 25 outstanding semifinalists.

The Recording Academy and GRAMMY Museum proudly announced the 25 semifinalists for the 2019 Music Educator Award, champions of music education nominated by grateful students and parents. Full-time public and private teachers from all 50 states received a total of 2,800 nominations via, and the one winner will be announced during GRAMMY Week.

“Music and the arts should be a part of every child’s education,” said 2018 MEA honoree Melissa Salguero, while receiving her award at the 2018 GRAMMY Salute To Music Legends. The following champions of musical creativity in education, representing 16 states, make that goal a reality every day and are now in semifinal consideration for next year’s honor:

2019 Music Educator Award Semifinalists

Michael Antmann, Freedom High School, Clermont, Fla.
Jeff Ball, The Grand Street Campus High Schools, Brooklyn, N.Y.
Deanna Bell, Vestavia Hills Elementary East, Irondale, Ala.
Jeremy Bradstreet, Dublin Coffman High School, Dublin, Ohio
John Burn, Homestead High School, San Jose, Calif.
Victor de los Santos, Santa Ana High School, Santa Ana, Calif.
David Dehner, Cornerstone Christian Schools, San Antonio, Texas
Elizabeth Hering, Churchill High School, Canton, Mich.
Paul Holzen, Parkway Central Middle School, Dardenne Prairie, Mo.
Brandi Jason, Liberty High School, Sykesville, Md.
Gary Meggs, Arkansas High School, Texarkana, Ark.
Henry Miller, Sierra Vista Middle School, Lake Forest, Calif.
Brian Querry, Charles A. Huston Middle School, North Apollo, Pa.
Michael Raiber, Oklahoma City University, Norman, Okla.
Amy Rangel, Glendale High School, Burbank, Calif.
Jeffery Redding, West Orange High School, Orlando, Fla.
Joshua Shaw, Coronado High School, Lubbock, Texas
Scott Sheehan, Hollidaysburg Area Senior High School, Hollidaysburg, Pa.
Mickey Smith Jr., Maplewood Middle School, Sulphur, La.
Craig Snyder, Penncrest High School, Garnet Valley, Pa.
Sarah Todd, Mary Lyon Elementary School, Chicago, Ill.
Matthew Trevino, Roan Forest Elementary, San Antonio, Texas
Helen Walker, Doby’s Mill Elementary, Camden, S.C.
John Weatherspoon, Lake Worth Community High School, West Palm Beach, Fla.
Heath Wolf, Farmington Junior High, Kaysville, Utah

From this list, 10 will advance to consideration as finalists. The remaining 15 semifinalists will receive an honorarium of $500 and their schools will receive matching grants thanks to the generosity and support of the GRAMMY Museum’s Education Champion Ford Motor Company Fund. Outreach for this program has been assisted by the American Choral Directors Association, National Association for Music Education, NAMM Foundation, and National Education Association.

The recipient of the sixth annual honor will be flown to Los Angeles to participate in GRAMMY Week festivities and attend the upcoming 61st Annual GRAMMY Awards on Feb. 10, 2019, in addition to receiving an honorarium and matching school grant. The remaining nine finalists will receive an honorarium of $1,000 and their schools will receive matching grants. While the selection is competitive, the Music Educator Award shines its light on all educators who “made a significant and lasting contribution to the field of music education and who demonstrate a commitment to the broader cause of maintaining music education in the schools.”



Article Source:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.